Rimex Night Race – 2017


The annual night race was held on Saturday the 14th of October 2017 – WOW what a race. The warm up race got off to a roaring start at 16h00 with NW winds of 12-16 Knots and gusting up to 20 knots.
The warm up is held for a means of a shake up and it shook out a couple of problems which some of the boats had to sort out.

The night race started at 18h00 and had 7 boats entered. The bridge was ably manned by Johan, Adie Erasmus and Annemarie du Randt from shore with Francois Du Randt doing the mark laying in
tough conditions. The wind did not let up from the afternoon and thank goodness everyone had winter woollies as it was certainly needed. All the rigging lights on the yachts passed inspection and
the marks (with flashing light) we’re laid in a long triangular course to ensure there were no mishaps.

Concentration was as high as the winds and reefed sails we’re used on the big boats with the smaller yachts downgrading to Jib’s to have some manageability in the hard conditions.
The race was won by Steve Matthews and Rory Hay on his new Hunter Sulphide which had been launched for the first time at WYAC – well done Steve and in second place was Colin & Craig Hay on
Haysons and in third place was Pikkie & Zenobia on the Holiday – Naughty.

The club would like to thank Mr Ian Ray and Rimex for their continued support of the night race,

Hunter Nationals 2017 – DAC

WYAC entered 6 Boats in the Hunter National Regatta held at DAC, (Denyesville Aquatic Club)

John Bruckman and Dave Martinson came 4th (close but no cigar), Barry Ogilvie and John Wegerle were 11th, Dean Wegerle and Alex Garoufalias 15th, Pikkie & Zenobia Smit 16th, Rory Hay and Stiaan Du Plessis in 19th position and our last boat in was Michael Fogerty and Corbin Clack in 22nd place but they were also the 1st Juniors – well done boys.

Read the full report by James King – HUNTER NATIONALS 2017

Full Results Hunter 2017 Nationals